Being Cruel To Be Kind.

The only thing (not exactly) worse than getting rejected is clinging to the hope that the verdict is not final and therefore not being able to move on.

I mean, I’ve been in a position where I knew the guy I liked had moved on, and yet wasn’t able to do the same because he kept giving me these signs, like maybe, just maybe, I had a chance. He was nice, he’d crack jokes and call me pretty, he’d always be there to talk to me when I had a bad day. I was dealing with a master of mixed signals. “Maybe he’s developing feelings for me again but he just doesn’t want to tell me because he’s unsure”, was what I kept telling myself. Yep. I was pretty deluded. But then again, could I really be blamed?

Many people might not agree with me, but really, when someone you’re not interested in tells you they like you, I think you have to be cruel to be kind. Maybe not cut them off entirely, but you definitely don’t snuggle up to them, you don’t text them 24/7, you don’t go everywhere with them alone, you just don’t. It’s plain mean. I get that the attention is nice and all. It’s super flattering to have someone like you, but being ultra nice to them, well, it’s downright cold-hearted. Maybe you don’t have the will to cut the person off and totally stop talking to them, because you know it’d hurt them, but come on. It’s not nice to give them false hope either.

From my experience, it’s a lot easier to move on when you’re not constantly talking to the person you’ve been rejected by. Yeah it hurts at first when they start dodging your texts, but the sadness lasts about 2 weeks and then you get to move on to other people because you never even get to obsess over what-ifs.

Someone told me once to, “JUST BE KIND TO BE KIND!” Dear boy, I wish I could think the world was that simple. Sometimes you just have to suck it up and be the villain. Especially when the alternative is having some poor soul being in unrequited love with you for two years.

Leave a Reply

