Watch The Past Go Up In Smokes.

People can be so vicious.

We learn to be. Or maybe it’s self-preservationism. I really hope it’s not the latter and that we don’t have to resort to putting other people down to save ourselves. I’d like to think we don’t realize how bad a careless word or action can hurt. Maybe then ignorance could be somewhat of an excuse. 

When did I first utter a mean phrase? When did I first realize someone had uttered one about me?

I know I used to care a lot about what people thought. It could make or break me. I thought I moved past that but obviously I haven’t that much, since I still restrain myself from defending people for fear of having the target shifted to my forehead. 

It’s so easy to just say, “It’s not my problem”. Technically it isn’t. 

Is that enough?

We’ve all been hurt. We’ve probably all felt alone at some point in time. Yet we don’t think twice when we subject others to the very thing someone else subjected us to. When we’re the victims, we see this person as a bully, a villain. When we’re the tormentors, we don’t take it seriously. “It’s just a joke”, we’d say. 

But it’s not. It’s not at all. At least not to the person on the receiving end. 

And it boggles me how a meaningless joke of almost no substantial value could make someone cry themselves to sleep at night. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

