Tick Tock.

I wait.

All day, all year, I wait.

I wait for a letter from far away

to be slotted into my mailbox by a mailman.

I wait for the bus.

I wait for the rain, and

when it comes, I wait for the sun.

I wait for clear skies to go for a walk.

I wait for your call, your text

I wait for your heart.

I wait for something amazing to happen,

I am disappointed far too often.

I wait for dawn, then I wait for dusk.

I wait for people to notice me,

I wait for them to ask

If I am really okay, even though I know they don’t really care.

They’re just filling their days with small talk

as they wait, and wait, and wait.

 

Leave a Reply

