Everyone’s Waiting

I know all the lines to say, the part I’m expected to play. In the reflection I am worlds away.

As I put my costume on, eyelashes one by one. Been doing this so long I can tie the knot behind my back.

Everyone’s waiting but it’s getting harder to hear what my heart is saying ’cause everyone’s waiting.

Just swallow and breathe, she says. Remember this ain’t for you, it’s for them. And all of those painful lessons you’ve had to learn, you gotta use them now or never.

Cause everyone’s waiting but it’s getting harder to hear what my heart keeps saying. Turn it off, I wanna turn it all off.

When everyone’s waiting, it makes it harder to hear what my heart keeps saying. Turn it off, I wanna turn it all off. Everyone’s waiting, I hear that answers appear when you just stand still. Make it all, how do you make it all stop?

Everyone’s waiting.

 

Leave a Reply

